Written by: Alyssa Pelfresne

In your ideal world, what would you like to do at 7am on a Saturday morning? Sleeping is probably the logical answer for most people. Well, on Saturday February 8th at 7am the only thing I want to do to is sing and dance to Bon Jovi’s “Livin’ on a Prayer” with every other dancer in the IMU.  To me, there is nothing like the feeling of dancing with my friends and all of us screaming “Oh we’re halfway there.  Oh livin’ on a prayer”.  This coming February will be my third Dance Marathon and each year, that is the song that changes my entire mood.  That song represents the light at the end of the tunnel for me.  In my first year as a dancer, I can honestly say that the hours between 2am and 6am were the most difficult.  I wanted to give up and go to bed, but as soon as that song came on I knew that I had made it halfway there and there was no way that I could stand to give up now. One piece of advice that I have for that first, second, or even third year dancer: when you feel like giving up…don’t.  

 

I’m a huge fan of the show One Tree Hill and if any of you readers are familiar with the show, you know that it is filled with inspirational quotes.  Well, I happen to fill my entire Pinterest “Quote” board with quotes from the show and am going to share one with you.  

 

“And recognize that every day won’t be sunny, and when you find yourself lost in the darkness and despair, remember it’s only in the black of night you see the stars. And those stars will lead you back home. So don’t be afraid.”

 

I shared this quote because Dance Marathon is hard.  Every minute of every hour will not be easy, but when you find yourselves in the most difficult times, think about every child who is there dancing with you and all of those who can’t be at the event.  Think of the reason why you raised $400+ for pediatric cancer and hold onto it, because it will allow you to “see the stars” on why you dance.  When looking back, I am most thankful for the hardest moments I experienced in Dance Marathon.  They allowed me to grow and be thankful that I am able to make a difference.  And if you need more motivation, wait for that song to come on it will get you through the moment.  When you hear that song, sing and dance as loud as you possibly can.  Grab your friends and do every ridiculous dance Imagemove that you’ve been waiting to do. Find the beat that will make you see the stars in the black of the night and let it bring you back to why we all dance…so that we can lead each kiddo home.  Can’t wait to see you all at 7am. 

One thought on “Find Your Beat

Leave a Reply

