Written By: Alyssa Pelfresne

 

As we begin to approach the start of second semester, a million emotions are going through my mind.  Excitement, that all of my friends will be back together again in Iowa City. Dreading and fearful of the fact that I am a senior and this is my last semester in college.  And anticipation, of what’s to come in next months.  With Dance Marathon less than 30 days away, I can’t help but feel these same emotions regarding the big event.  This will be my third and final Dance Marathon and as excited as I am for the event, a part of me hopes it will never come because I know once it is here, it will be over in the blink of an eye.

 

To be honest, in my first year of Dance Marathon, I didn’t know if I could do it again because of how hard it was.  I was a sophomore at Iowa and randomly decided to join DM because one of my friends was a morale captain.  At the event, I was tired, cranky, and the struggle was real.  But that is the point of DM.  The point is fight through your toughest hours and try to understand what the kids have to deal with on a daily basis.  Looking back, I have never been happier with my decision to stick it out and finish that big event.  Little did I know that I would dance another year and then decide to apply for a leadership position.  Dance Marathon is an organization that I literally decided to join on a wim and has become something that will be so hard to say goodbye to in a few short weeks.

 

With all of these “senior” thoughts in my head, one of my favorite quotes comes to mind:

Image 

So for all of you seniors out there, my advice for you is to enjoy the song that is your last Dance Marathon and last semester.  Soak up every memory in the moment and do the things you have always wanted to do.  My goal for DM and the rest of the year is simple…to stop thinking about graduation and enjoy the now, to enjoy the music, and I hope you will all do the same. 

Leave a Reply

